a "what would you do?" question

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

littlerunawa

Reaction score
I've visited this forum a while ago (I think it's been a couple of years). I'm not in my best mood lately and I don't really have anyone to talk to about it. so here's the thing:

I'm a second year student (just started second year this Sunday). I've started Uni relatively late, just before I turned 28, so practically all of my fellow students are younger (18-25) than me. add to that the fact that I'm not a very social person (I don't make friends easily) and the result is I have practically no social contact with other students, I feel like I have nothing in common with them and don't really have any desire to find friends among them. but that's not the real issue.

last semester I did this course and homework had to be submitted in pairs. I found myself a partner and by pure dumb luck, I found the only guy that's older than me. we ended up spending long hours together on the assignments, we got a long really well and soon enough I fell crazy in love with him (and I'm not talking about a high school crush).

at some point I realized I'm simply not his type and nothing ever happened between us. anyway, before previous semester ended we already agreed to partner up on a couple of courses we're both taking this year, cuz we worked together really well.

but now he went and got himself a girlfriend. first it was "this girl I started to date" and then yesterday it changed to "I'm spending the night at my girlfriend's place". needless to say, that every time I hear something like that my heart breaks into a few more pieces but I hide it really well.