do you actually want friends?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jayme89

Reaction score
How many lonely/friendless people actually want friends? As a loner myself, I am naturally drawn to other loners, eccentrics, social outcasts etc. I don't have social anxiety and I am able to strike up conversations for the most part (with people who I feel I may be able to relate to) but when I do, the other party seems to reject my advances.

A good example is back when I was in school, I sat next to this girl who I had a lot in common with, someone who was probably picked on in school and considered a 'nerd' like me and we spoke a lot in class. She would say things out loud to me like "I just moved into the area and I have no knowledge of how to get around. I just want to drive around and see things but I have no one to go with", so I'm assuming this is an invitation and I say "Well, I'll go with you! I'm new to the area too and wouldn't mind looking around with you", after that she just dropped the subject and the next time I saw her she brought it up and said, "yeah last weekend I just was driving around alone" and I'm thinking, " :( really?!!! I said I could go with you!".

Other examples are people saying "I'll be so bored this weekend I have no friends or anything to do. I just stay in my house all day and night and do nothing." So I'm thinking that a) I can relate and b) they're giving me an opening to invite them out or want someone to hang with, so then I say "hey, we should hang out together because I don't get out I'm usually home doing nothing as well. so, we can both get out!". Then the person will never contact me but then the next time I see them, I ask them about their weekend and they'll say "oh, I was just bored doing nothing as usual" once again, I'm just thinking " :( really?!"