How do I get a girlfriend at University?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

River Lion

Reaction score
Hello all, this is my first real post on these forums. I apologize in advance if I break any conventions or have posted this in the wrong forum.

Please read and understand my description thoroughly before answering. Thank you.

I am 18 years old, turning 19 in the summer. I am a freshman at a University downtown. As of yet I have not kissed a woman, nor flirted/dated, or done anything intimate,flirtatious, or sexual with a female.

1) I do not live on residence in a dorm. I commute to the university, so the commonly suggested tip of "meet girls in your dorm room or within your roomate's social circle" is void.

2) All of my classes are lectures with approx. 100 students. You never sit beside the same person twice. I have not built any friends since arriving in September of 2013. Another common suggestion I hear is "chat with someone in your class and go from there". This isn't high school where there's 25 kids in a class and you know everyone.

3) A final suggestion I'm used to hearing is "join clubs and get connected". I haven't found a club that interests me as of yet. However, I am in the process of crafting one with some other students and will perhaps meet a nice girl here and move forward.

This is why I bring the question to you, A Lonely Life Forums. There are those hear in similar shoes to mine and those who have overcome such obstacles and built strong social skills and positive progress. I hope that we can bounce off each other's experiences and wisdom and solve my problem as well as the problem of others.

So, please advise me on how to get a girlfriend when I do not live in a dormitory with women and have large classes where everyone is "just a head in the crowd".