Lonely and thinking of moving to Australia. Good idea or not? Sry, long intro

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hannah

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to this forum, but so happy I found it.

I have had a hard time my entire life making and keeping friends. Mostly because I never really learned how (I moved nearly every 6 months from age of 5 to 23). Also because I think I open up too much as well and I trust way too much to the point where now I don't trust anyone. I also have major issues with wanting someone to give me the extra effort/time/consideration/thoughtfulness etc.. that I give.

Current situation:
I am an American living in Germany (I have been gone for 10 years now). Not for a job or relationship, just never felt at home in the states and always did when traveling overseas. I have a good degree, but it is very specific and cant really do a lot with it outside of the states. So, for the last 10 years, I have been doing jobs that I did not like or just fell into. I have never had a job that I really like.

I have either cut ties with or had them cut with a large handful of "friends" over the last 2 years. I just found that most of the "friends" you make while living as an expat is due to language (English speakers tend to draw to each other) and not really because you have things in common. Some of the "friends" I am very happy to be rid of (as were very false friends and never really friends at all (publicly making fun of me or speaking about "confidential" things to others.

I have a boyfriend of 3 years and we really dont have any major issues in our relationship, so the only thing in my life that works!!!

I am now unemployed and have the opportunity to change my life direction, but not sure if I am thinking about it to Run Away or to Better Myself.