Some advice from a failure.

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Haven

Reaction score
Today an acquaintance of mine asked me for some advice about dating. Which I thought was strange because when it comes to relationships I’m a huge failure. I was surprised how good my advice sounded. Well at least I thought it sounded good. I guess it’s true that you learn a lot more through failure then you do success. I thought I’d share what little experience I have here. Honestly my advice sounds like common knowledge but you’d be surprised how often people make these mistakes.

Before I start let me just say I am not an expert just a Failure learning from trial and error I just thought others could learn from my mistake.
One of my first dating failures is when I started a relationship and did not know what the other person wanted out of it. People often start dating for different reason some start for sex some for companionship and often others start out of curiosity. You should let the other person know what you’re looking for unless you’re the type that enjoys the deception. If you’re looking for companionship I don’t think there is anything wrong with just telling the person you want someone to share your life with. It helps to know these things because if the other party just wants sex with very little emotional strings attached that relation probably won’t work. The same could be said if you just want sex. It’s not nice to say a bunch of things you think the other wants to here just to improve your chances of getting laid. To you it might be just sex but to the other person you both were making love i.e. skinship. Lying to have sex is not harmless it can cause your partner to feel violated if your intentions become known.