A crossroad in an 18 year old's life that needs advice.

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

135alex531

Reaction score
I'm an 18 year old freshman attending Jefferson Community College currently doing the "Ultra Program". The ultra program is for students who do well on the ACT but not so well on their high school GPA. Kids who are smart, but it doesn't reflect on their grades for whatever reason. My personal recipe for my own lack of success was pot + a lack of motivation. Now i'm 18 years old, head screwed on a little tighter, and attending JCC for my entire freshman year. Now Ultra is a transfer program in which you reach a certain number of credit hours at JCC, then you are allowed to switch over to the University (uofl). The minimum amount of credits necessary to transfer is 24 (8 classes) and the maximum amount of credits to transfer is 60 (20 classes). Now the person who takes 20 classes at JCC then transfers gets the SAME University of Louisville degree as someone who takes 8 classes. At a third of the price.
I don't feel connected with the community college that i go to at all. I take 3 classes and am only on campus 2 days a week. The classes are easy and I have 3 A's as well as sooo much free time on my hands.