Talking about depression

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anonymous Rex

Reaction score
Not sure if this is the right board for this, not sure where else.

I'm feeling pretty awful, have been for a while, but I'm not sure how to talk about my depression to those around me.
I have told most of those round me how I feel (with exceptions - my Gran etc. - a few people who maybe wouldn't deal with it that well), but in terms of further discussions I don't really know how to talk about this.

'How are you today?' 'I feel like there's this thick fog inside my brain, I can't think properly and life seems utterly pointless. You?'
Not the best, really.

I'd quite like to be the kind of person who can talk frankly about my depression, pretty sh!t at it at the moment.

Any advice?

No advice, unfortunately. I'm pretty new to dealing with depression myself, and still trying to learn how to live with it.

But:
Anonymous Rex said:
'I feel like there's this thick fog inside my brain, I can't think properly and life seems utterly pointless. You?'

This was a pretty darn accurate way of describing that feeling. I'm going to use this next time someone asks me about my day. ;)

its hard for people who have never felt it to understand how it feels.
talking to them is just trying to explain something they will never fully understand.
that can be a pretty frustrating conversation.

someone who has been through or is going through the same thing will understand you a lot better.
that makes talking about it a lot easyer.

im guessing youll find plenty of people that can relate here.
you found 2 so far ;)

just say whats on your mind, and dont get to upset if people dont get it.
some people just have (happy for them) no idea what your talking about.