Anyone know anything about dual booting?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ReaderGuy

Reaction score
I have windows 7, and have been thinking about dual booting windows 7 and 8. I actually attempted to do this, but have been having trouble with the installer. Ive been trying to save the ISO file, to "install by creating media" and it says "Sorry, something happened, we couldnt finish creating the ISO...".

So I was going to call microsoft customer service, but I started wondering if its even a good idea to dual boot. Im a college student and really dont want to mess up my computer. Is dual booting normally safe/ would you recommend it?

So does anybody know how to fix my issue, or have any knowledge about dual booting and how it could affect my computer?

Also, I do have a 64gb usb 2.0 flash drive. Could I just run windows 8 on this? Or would a partition on my computer be better (of 150gb)?

I'm wondering, do you need to dual boot for a specific reason? And why choose to dual boot windows 7 and 8?

The reason I ask is that I imagine dual booting to be something you'd do with a specific purpose that allows you to get the best out of both operating systems in order to suit your needs - for example, if you're developing something for multiple operating systems or you're an arty type with multiple programs that you need different OSes for to work correctly.

My own impressions of windows 8 are that it's windows 7 with an ugly, impenetrable veneer that just makes it harder to get anything done, so I struggle to see what benefit you'd be getting from it.