How I Escaped My Parents

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dissident

Reaction score
Over the years after I graduated I faced some of the darkest days of depression of my life. I attempted suicide a number of times because of the crushing loneliness and the helpless feeling of being trapped under my mother's thumb. When the recession hit, it got so much worse. I was jobless for 9 months, and when I did get a job, it was a cruddy retail job at just above minimum wage. I was literally giving my parents every cent of my money and they would only give me enough to fill up the car to go to work. I couldn't drive down the street to see my friends who were scared to get involved because of how intense my mother is. My quarter-life crisis was in full swing, and our generation has more under-30s living with their parents than any other.

Fast forward to now. I live in an apartment with my girlfriend, I have my own car, and I have a decent full-time job. (My girlfriend and I aren't exactly working out, and there are a number of other issues, but I'm not bring those up here. :p) I'm not going to say "if I can do it, you have no reason not to be able to, too" because that's bullshit and everyone has to accomplish things at their own pace. Just hoping maybe a few tactics can be picked up from this.

First off, all those years I squandered sitting in my room with no social life were spent honing a number of skills. I can debug a host of software and networking issues, I can design polished and refined graphics ready for the printing press using Adobe software, and I'm well-versed in a number of programming languages. It's something I love doing, and it has a real-world value. This should have been enough, but let's be honest: you don't get very far without a degree unfortunately.