lonely people

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

haha one of my favorite songs to play by a band called America...

Anyways like a lot of people around here i'm also a lonely college student. When I first went into college I expected a lot of things to happen for me, especially making a butt load of friends. I tried joining sports leagues and joining a club at school but none of them worked out. Soon I just found myself sitting and wandering around campus watching people pass by and thinking about what I was doing wrong. For the next few years I felt as if I were just wandering. I changed majors but didn't know what I was going to do with them. I met people but they never lasted.

I spent a lot of my time thinking what I should do to fix this. I tried changing myself. I remember trying to imitate the people I saw on TV and thought if I could be funny, witty, and interesting like them then I would would start making friends. Maybe even meet that special somebody. But it never worked really. My act always distintegrated when I performed it.

I got depressed a lot too. Everybody I saw around seemed to have it going good. They had friends and laughed. They went to parties and had the good times. They seemed confident and whole. I felt like I wasn't any kind of person at all. When I got home sometimes I went whole nights without sleep just thinking about my life, sometimes muffling curses to God on my pillow or trying to figure out how to untangle this invisible thing inside myself that caused me to be such a...loser.