I am lost

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Hello. I have a masters in Education and I am terified to be a teacher. I don't know if I will be a good one. I am subbing right now but have only subbed one time this whole year. I got a parttime job since I haven't been subbing but my husband is still angry with me for not working. I got called last night but turned it down because it was for a middle school gym class. I couldn't face middle schoool gym. My husband is really angry with me. I just need somebody to talk to.

wow, this sounds really painful. have you tried to explain to your husband how you feel and what's holding you back? i bet you could use his support.

something that has worked for me - just do it - no matter how scared you are (ok, clearly I mean reasonable things, no sense in trying to perform neurosurgery based on a pep talk) - you might be surprised at how competent, even great, you are! sometimes the less you do, the more freaked out you get. i was stuck out of the country from where was job was for six weeks becasue of a visa problem, by the time the bureaucratic debacle got sorted out, I was terrified to go back to work, terrified I couldn't handle it, that I was secretly a moron and now it would be exposed. thankfully I sucked it up, returned anyway and things are great, better than before I left.

give it a shot, you're probably surprise yourself. get a group of people around you who are willing to be supportive; find a teacher who can mentor you; talk to your old profs and see what advice they can offer.