I really don't know what to do with myself anymore

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Altoids

Reaction score
I've reached a dead end in my life, and I have no idea where things went wrong.

To put it simply, I'm a quiet, reserved, introverted individual with social skills that perhaps rival a rock. Despite that, I've made it through school, through college, with the hope that a great career would lie before me. I did what the teachers told me. I studied, did my homework, got good grades, did all that stuff, under the assumption that it would pay off. It did not. Why? Because they always taught me to be yourself. They teach you that it's OK to be who you are. I believed that. I believed that being a quiet, shy individual was OK, but it isn't. Not in the world we live in today. All that matters is social skill and how many friends you have. That's it. I know a guy who barely made it through high school who's now married, with a kid on the way, with a 60k salary, with no college education. Why? Because he's the best **** talker there is. He knew how to talk his way through the corporate ladder. That's all he needed to know. Me, I thought it would be my skills that carried me, but no. It's not what you know, it's who you know. Unfortunately I learned that too late.