Hi, nice to make your acquaintance...

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ReflectingPool

Reaction score
I'm 36 years old and I'm really into reading, music, film, art, photography, and things of that kind. I'm also very interested in history and science. Pretty much anything is interesting to me in one way or another. My taste in music, film, etc., tends towards older things and is influenced by my interest in history. In college I studied English literature.

I like to have long, in-depth conversations with people and have never been that good at superficial interactions and "small talk." Most people would probably describe me as pretty quiet and shy, but I can be very talkative and expressive if I'm really interested in a certain subject or have strong feelings about it.

I've had a lot of problems in my life with depression and anxiety, and have tended to be alone most of the time as an adult. I had a fairly active social life when I was a teenager, played in bands with friends, etc., but as an adult I gradually kind of fell out with the people I used to know and have had a hard time developing new contacts. I think a lot of the problem has been that I've often felt pretty stressed out by the demands and struggles of life and have had a hard time finding the emotional energy for friends, relationships, etc. I also tend to be really introverted at times, which has made connecting with people even more of a challenge for me.