How public speaking really helped me to get rid of my shyness

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spy

Reaction score
Hi!

Like I said in my introduction thread, I was very shy when I was a kid. It was worst when I was a teenager. Bullying didn't helped me.

But about 15 years ago, I started to work in a museum. I worked as a guide and I had to do lots of public speaking. I had every group you can imagine (kids, teens, adults, families, elderlies, immigrants, tourists ...). And I had to do this public speaking in two languages.

By talking to them every day I started to build my self-confidence and my self-esteem. Eventually, I started to make jokes with people and I discovered that they were laughing at my jokes and not about me.

If you are shy, my best tip is to force you to take a job at public speaking. It's hard, very hard at the beginning but with the time and effort, it will help you a lot.

I've been in customer service for about that long, still hasn't helped me with public speaking. I can talk customers ears off too you wouldn't know I was a shy person, but outside of that, hell no.

Get me in the right context, and I can talk your ear off. This is usually when I feel like I have control in the conversation. If I mention that I'm shy during these periods, those people say, "No you aren't."

Get me in a situation where I feel powerless, such as a conversation about football or something I have nothing to add to, and I become really, really withdrawn and quiet.

Are there other members that have a fear of speaking in front of a public or had succeed to get ride of this fear like me?

I'm still struggling with my public speaking issues. Public speaking at work is always a source of anxiety and discomfort for me..