Tips & Advice for My Job Hunt

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ladyforsaken

Reaction score
Okay, I'm not sure how much response I'll get from this, but I'll give it a shot anyway, who knows.

I'll be leaving my job at the end of June this year and I'm already starting to worry about finding another job after that.

Also, the current job I'm in was a straight route from this study programme I went through for 4 years - so cos of that, there was no need for me to go through the whole job-hunting process, resume-writing etc. I just had one interview in the beginning before I started the studies for the programme, which was like more than 8 years ago lol. I've been working for close to 5 years now. So I have not gone for an interview ever, but just that one time. So it's quite nerve-wrecking thinking about this.

So. I can do a lot of research online and everything, but it's nothing like hearing someone's experience about the whole process and getting tips and advice about job hunting, resumes and interviews.

Any tips and advice from any of you that I could benefit from?

Like for resumes, what do employers really look at? I know you gotta keep it brief and simple.

Cover letters, is it supposed to be specific for a particular job I'm applying for?

Interviews, how do I prepare myself for that? Do I ask questions or just answer their questions? And if asking questions is a thing in interviews nowadays, what sort of questions do you ask them?
What type of questions will they tend to ask?

Anything else I'd need to take note of?

Thank you. :)