My voice

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Triple Bogey

Reaction score
To my ears it is normal but when I hear a recording of it (like I did today), I am amazed how dreadful it sounds. The way I speak, how I pronounce some words, so strange and odd. I work in customer service and I know some people can't understand a word I say. I think the voice is important, it can attract people. Who likes anybody with a miserable sounding voice ? Not many people. A manager told me 20 years ago when I started in retail that my voice is 'very deadpan' - I sound cheesed off, fed up, miserable.

Bugger all I can do about it !

I don't think anybody like the sound of their voice. I think I sound lazy, stoned and depressing all at once, but people don't cringe or jump in front of moving traffic when I speak so I assume it's not as bad as I think...

It's a known fact that you sound different to others than you do to yourself.

It probably has some kind of scientific explanation, like the close proximity of the larynx to the ear.

9006 said:
I don't think anybody like the sound of their voice. I think I sound lazy, stoned and depressing all at once, but people don't cringe or jump in front of moving traffic when I speak so I assume it's not as bad as I think...

some people do a double take when I speak.

Midnight Sky said:
It's a known fact that you sound different to others than you do to yourself.

It probably has some kind of scientific explanation, like the close proximity of the larynx to the ear.

I seem to split words into 2 and there is a gap between them. When I say 90p at work - it's Nine ....ty and customers think I say nine. Happens all the time.

I get comments from time to time. 'Do you really talk like that ?' - I have learned to ignore them.