My career is over (and so is my life)

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ladysigh

Reaction score
Hi everyone, it's been a long time since I last logged in here (a few years, in fact). Can't believe how bad things have gotten for me...

I'm 46yo, I was a graphic designer for the past 17 years. Combining that with my early office admin/typist work I have 27 total years of work experience along with my two degrees (BS in business admin, one in design). But I've learned that this is all worthless in the new economy as I find myself permanently jobless. Over the past ten years I have only been able to find stupid contract work, never a permanent job (one contract lasted 3.5 years with no perm offer ever). Looking back I can see that Boston was the worst place for me to try to forge a design career, as the job postings were always few and far between; even Ohio has more design jobs appearing on Indeed right now which I find rather strange...I should've acknowledged there was something wrong with the job market in this city and moved while I was still young.