Questions

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jjessea

Reaction score
I wanted to find out how many people are getting older and have never been able to start or maintain an intimate relationship. The older part is subjective; I just want to know if you feel like the time to make that connection has passed, or is passing you by.

There are people who spend their entire lives alone, without any significant connections, and I want to know why. I suspect that there are many reasons that contribute, and it's different from person to person, but I also suspect that there's one fundamental reason for the isolation, I just don't know what that is.

I know that it's a problem that can encompass both sexes, but IMO I think it's primarily a male problem. I have no evidence or experience to suggest this, it's just my sense of it. I think that women who have problems making connections end up, more often than not, getting into relationships with the wrong sort of men. I'd like to find out whether I'm wrong in this or not.

I suppose I'll start:

I spent most of my young life feeling alienated, and alienating myself from those around me. The connections I did make were those that felt outcast too. We set a little group up, and spent our late teens, early twenty's exploring what was offered outside of society; transiency, crime, drugs. I did not want to be a part of the world, I wanted to be outside of it, or even against it. I did not hate people, I hated myself amongst them. I saw, and still sometimes see, myself apart from them and not like them in any meaningful way.