Lonely and depressed :(

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Musicman

Reaction score
I've never felt so lonely in my life. I'm a sophomore in college and I've been really lonely since the beginning of High School. I've always felt very isolated from others. I have a small, close circle of friends (4). Other than that, nobody seems to like me. At my college people are either uninterested, or look at me like I have three heads. I commute and have no real friends there. Old high school acquaintances, when I see them, talk behind my back when they think I'm not looking. It's really heartbreaking and I wish I knew what I'd done to deserve it. I am introverted, but I like to talk to new people and engage in conversation. I'm friendly and I'm a good listener. I don't understand what's the matter with me.

It got much worse from junior year of HS onwards when a girl I was friends with led me on a few times. We eventually dated for three months at the end of high school and she broke up with me on the first day of college. I know it might sound dramatic but the whole experience with that girl was absolutely soul-crushing. I haven't felt really happy ever since, it's like a wet blanket thrown over me 24/7. She's the only girl I ever had mutual feelings for. I think she's had two boyfriends since me, the first a week and a half after she broke up with me. Every time I see her I feel really horrible, so I avoid that as much as possible.

I'm really depressed. Whenever I'm around people, even family, I feel separate and alone. If it weren't for my love of music and my wonderful dog (I live alone with her), I don't know if I could handle it at all. I just randomly cry all the time now, and it's horrible :(

I am so sorry that you are in this situation… music is great, but by no means it can substitute people.