Not sure about school

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

always_lonely

Reaction score
So I'm not sure about university, or if I should keep going. I am an older student going back to school, I went to community college, and now I have transferred to a large university, and I am miserable. It's like a bad version of highschool all over again.

I'm finishing up my second semester now at the 4 year school. I am in biomed engineering. My plans were always dentistry, or something like it. Something working with people who need help. biomed engineering has very little biology, and it's focused on making things it seems. I never wanted to make things, but was told this would be a great degree for medicine.

Its been a very long time since I've touched anything bio/med related. I'm increasingly more and more alienated because my interests don't align with everyone else's at the college. The teachers act like I'm an idiot. Zero respect.
I hate the work, and I really hate the teachers. Everyone (school advising) keeps telling me that "everyone hates engineering school" and to just move on.

I however kind of feel misled a little. I'm miserable studying nothing I am interested in and the school gets a lot of my money. My advisers keep telling me I'm burned out and need to "take the afternoon off."

I think I just hate what I'm doing with my life and who I've surrounded myself with right now.

I'm so confused because I have so many people in my ear telling me that things aren't so bad, and that I really don't know what engineering is really about, that I am just complaining.