Need Advice - First Time Gym Goer

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ak5

Reaction score
Well folks, I'm a freshman in college ('murica) and it's time to put those gym fees to use. The only exercise I know of is running, and it's time to add strength training into the mix. Now...I have a lot of social anxiety, so my New Year's resolution for when I get back to college is start going to the gym. It feels intimidating whereas all these guys know what their doing and I'm just there thinking "I have no idea what I'm doing." :p

So, if any of you guys can give a noob some advice about what machines, weights, etc to use that would be great. Instructional videos and websites too!

I am not sure what a New years resolution is... But from what i figured out its like a "next year i do this... And be like that..." thing? If so, yea dont do that... Dont wait for that special moment to turn your life around couse you think it will magicly change something.... And besides i would advice you to wait a few weeks or even a month becouse im sure that there thousands of people that think the same thing and the place will be crowded.

So for your quastion:
1) dont pay attention to anyone, youre there for you, and everyone started as noob that dont know anything. If someone does looks at you just ask him if youre doing it right, im sure they will be glad to help

2) I think there will be a trainer or something that you can ask for help.

And good luck!!!! I myself dont go to the gym, but i do Krav Maga. I feel really good about myself after the workout.

Ak5 said: