Being good at sports

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

M_also_lonely

Reaction score
Yesterday, there was a seminar at our college with the motive of making us aware of the admission procedures in elite universities in foreign countries. Somewhere he mentioned that for getting into these colleges, academic expertise is not sufficient. You need to be good in extra curricular activities. He said that being good at sports throughout your school/college life is as important as being good at academics.
The problem is that I am not good at that. I have tried to play a lot of games like cricket, football, hockey, but unlike my colleagues, I suck at all of them. Nor do I have made any achievements ever, even other than sports, yet. Not even in a single field.
So as this means they wont select me, what shall I do now?
Will I have to quit engineering instead of getting a master degree because I am not good at extra curriclars?

I dont even have any achievements in academics. So wont I get any chance to learn from great colleges of the world?

Whats my fault if I didnt know that I will need these achievenments in future?

This sounds like a bunch of preppy bullshit to me. Not undermining the value of possible extracurricular activities, but surely these aren't limited to sports. They can extend your social circle and sure they can look nice on a CV cause they show that you pursue interests outside of regular hours, yet connected to the school/college. Mind the "interests". These activities should fit you and if sports aren't your thing, then it wouldn't help - especially if someone inquired why you chose these activities and if you liked them while you try to ignore how horrible they were.