Newbie in the night

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
O

Oceanmist23

Hi everyone!
I’m a newbie on this forum, joined a couple of days ago so here’s my introduction.
I’m a 23 year old girl from a small town in Norway (hallo fellow scandies :) ) and I guess I can say I’ve been lonely for most of my life, though much more after I finished school at 16. That’s when everyone moved away from my hometown, me included, to study in college and I lost contact with my old classmates. I didn’t manage to make any new friends in college due to shyness and lack of know-how when it comes to making new friends without scaring them off in the process... So today my situation is basically 2 male friends, one from childhood who I now only speak to online, and the other living in England. 1 female friend who I very rarely see cos she is so popular that she’s always busy seeing everyone else... And I have a boyfriend who I love very much and who I’ve been together with for 5 years, but he too lives in England so we don’t get to see each other as often as we’d wish.

Most of the time I have no one to talk to and spend time with. I’m stuck in this godforsaken flat with no job and nothing to do. Both jobs and things to do are few here. I end up looking at the same stuff online every day, listening to the same music, and watching the same TV programs. It blows. I get really lonely and sad, wishing I was anywhere but in Norway. I’m truly at my happiest when I’m with people I care about, especially if I’m abroad at the same time. It’s wonderful to get away from Norway sometimes.