Just another lonely day!

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lostsoulx

Reaction score
Hi there. I'm 19. I've been spending a lot of time at home for the past 2 months and I am free till August. I have a tiny circle of friends. I've been feeling so lonely these days. All of my friends are in a relationship and I'm the only one who is single. When we go out together, their boyfriends/best friends will tag along and I don’t bring anyone. I do feel left out and pathetic. Getting teased by my friends is normal and I don't really mind it. I just feel like I’m not close to them as I used to now. Besides they are the only friends I have...

I've always been a shy, quiet girl. It takes me a long time to warm up to someone unless we have a common interest or when I feel like that person cares to listen to what I have to say. I'm also not close to my relatives.

Here's the thing. I want to have a meaningful conversation with someone/close friend. I don't share problems with my friends and they never shared theirs with me because they have their own set of best friends. What is everyone's favorite topic? Themselves.Let's share with each other how our days went, our fears, aspirations and stuff that people normally talk about. I have to meet new people first but I ALWAYS feel like I'm not good enough for others..

Examples:
1. I start to feel anxious when someone new talks to me. I don't know what to reply. When it comes to instant messaging, I might use words like "haha okay" and "cool". It is a conversation killer. I don't mean to end the conversation so quickly :(