My life changed so much...

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeardPerson

Reaction score
Hi.

I used to be very lonely, strongly depressed, and didn't see a way forward. I came on here, but lurked more than posted, as I didn't have the confidence to get involved (What if I say something wrong...). I was in contact with a couple of depression support things online but it didn't really help. I still have a degree of depression, I'll admit that now; it doesn't go away easily, it's lurking, but...For the past months I have been finding it easier and easier to push aside.

I was an undergraduate student in my degree. I very rarely got outside and relied on a few internet friends to keep me going. If I wasn't studying, I'd be sitting alone in my room sliding into depression...so I studied. Hard. But that meant I got good grades, people grew expectations. I saw my studies as the only thing in my life, the only thing that made me a valid person, so my entire life relied on getting the next grade. (Good grade? That'll slow down depression and make me feel normal. Bad grade? Depression will hit hard as I'm clearly worthless). So I sat at home, studying, sobbing, and generally just living in that weird limbo. I applied for a Master's degree, and inevitably got accepted. I actually asked a girl out at university, largely out of depression (I have nothing to lose, why not? Maybe she'll grow on me.), and was inevitably rejected, badly, as in she never even made eye contact with me again. There was someone else, someone I did love at the time... but she one of my internet friends, she was nothing but words on a screen. (It doesn't matter. Of course you love the impossible one, you just want to hurt yourself. Distract yourself from her...)