Unhappy with my looks

• Thread starter Northern Lights
  • Start date
Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
N

Northern Lights

I've made significant strides in improving my self-esteem.

From kindergarten age, I was bullied constantly for my looks and called ugly on a regular basis. It continued on almost a daily basis until I graduated from High School. Post High-school, compounding my feelings of worthlessness was my invisibility to men and their lack of interest in me. To a normal person, it may seem that my suffering was superficial, but no one knows the extent of verbal, emotional, and physical abuse that I endured because of other's obsession and dislike of my appearance. 

I am 28 now and only recently started healing a few years ago when I met my husband. I have moments where I feel "ok" or might be pleased for a fleeting moment with my appearance. Overall, I've never felt beautiful and don't think I ever will. It doesn't cut me as deep as it used to now that I'm married, but I wish I could be fully confident with my appearance. I've had negative reinforcement for so long and I hope that it'll become a distant memory as time passes by. 

My appearance doesn't hinder my life at this point. I'm not consumed by depression and self-hate with my appearance like how I used to be. But as I'm aging, I feel a loss for never having felt beautiful when I was younger. I'm starting to notice very fine lines around my eyes and my skin isn't as smooth as it used to be. Thoughts of my appearance don't plague me everyday. 

But sometimes, when I'm alone and look into the mirror...I'm disappointed with what's looking back.

I am disappointed every day. I have considered cosmetic surgery if I had the money. My nose is long, my body is obese, my eyes are wrong, my whole body is ugly.