What A Year...

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Poppi27

Reaction score
I've never used a forum before, i don't really know what to expect from it so i may as well start from the beginning. Warning, it's a long one!!

Last year my mam left my dad after 35 years of marriage due to his drink issues, what made her make this decision was my younger sister was in intensive care at hospital dealing with severe pancreatitis, and after looking after her for 20 hours solid, she and my older sister came home to a ton of abuse from my dad, whom was in a drunken mess on the sofa and angry they woke him up. Getting drunk was his way of dealing with it apparently, that and he doesn't like hospitals. 

I was unaware of what was going on as myself and my partner had gone abroad for Christmas, they didn't want to worry me with things. 

On my return, i found my mother and older sister staying at my house, ps my older sister came home to help for a month, she actually lives in another city, and my dad just being a mess on his own at my parents house, alone. 
I went to stay with my partner, whom had a house approx 30 mins away. Months went by and my younger sister finally got well enough to come out of hospital but was still very sick, she had a tube in her back still and had to have a bag drained every so often, so she was still under care. 

Things with my mam and dad didn't improve, my mother was heartbroken and my dad just wouldn't leave her alone, he kept sending her and myself abusive text messages, but our concentration was on my sister, and I had also found out i was pregnant. I thought if i told my dad he was going to be a granddad for the first time, he'd sort himself out with drink and leave my mam alone for a while. All my mam wanted was for him to get better and that maybe she would go back...