Depression and Random Impulses

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jean-vic

Reaction score
I've had depression since I can remember. It is always there, as anyone with depression knows, but there are times when it isn't as pervasive, in my experience. However, I've recently had a flare up and I'm getting the old familiar feelings. However, this time, the usually depressive symptoms have been accompanied by strange impulses. I have an urge to smoke cigarettes which I've never done before. I have an urge to smoke weed, and I've always been averse to drugs. Just the other day, I was sat at home and I had this strong impulse to go upstairs and shave my head. I haven't done any of these things, but thought it strange that I would have these impulses from out of the blue. 

Anyone else get strange impulses when depressed?

Yeah, I become desperate for diversion when I'm in the throes of depression. Usually, my impulses just lead to me shoving my face into a box of Cheez-Its, though. Strangely enough, I've had the same urge to shave my head when I'm upset.

Erasercrumbs said:
Yeah, I become desperate for diversion when I'm in the throes of depression. Usually, my impulses just lead to me shoving my face into a box of Cheez-Its, though. Strangely enough, I've had the same urge to shave my head when I'm upset.

So strange. I wonder if it's an inner desire to shed one's identity.

jean-vic said:
Erasercrumbs said:

Sounds likely. Usually such a manic impulse makes me feel that I have to quickly change something, anything, to change myself. 

I've gone through with the whole head shaving thing in the past, and the results are not pretty. My head winds up looking like a big toe with a itty-bitty face drawn on.

Erasercrumbs said:
jean-vic said:
Erasercrumbs said: