Lonely and sad

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nyyti

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a student, in my early twenties, and I've been pretty lonely ever since I was 15-16. I moved to a new town about four years ago for uni, and I haven't made any new friends. I don't really know anybody around here. The only time I really talk to someone is when I'm in the classroom or on the phone with my mom. The last couple of weeks have been really tough for some reason. I have felt like crying nearly everyday. Sometimes I feel so lonely that it's hard to breathe. I get headaches and stomach aches. I feel paranoid, because I don't know when to consider the symptoms as effects of stress and when of something else. 

Even though I feel like I can talk about anything with my mom, I try not to talk about these issues too much. She has a stressful job, and I don't want to be a burden. I wish she didn't have to worry about me. I'm frustrated for not being able to handle all of this. I've always been a bit of a loner, but I do need people to talk to and spend time with. I spent last summer mainly at my parents' place, with them and our family dogs. When I returned back to the town where I study, I felt empty and realized how much the company of my family means to me. That's when the symptoms I described above started slowly appearing, worse than last school year.