I guess its time

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

achefslife

Reaction score
Not really sure what to say here.  I suppose most can guess why I'm here, but here are some particulars.  I'm almost 50, and from my login, you can guess I'm a chef.  We live a strange life in a lot of ways.  Works nights mainly, work weekends, have odd days off.  I'm lucky to have advanced to a job where I have weekends off now, don't work late hours, only work about 50 hours a week, far less than the norm.  Trouble is, when you're in the industry, your work friends all work those same hours.  You don't have many friends outside the industry, since your time off doesn't coincide with theirs.  Since taking a job where my time doesn't coincide with my industry co-horts, so I'm in the worst of both worlds.  No work friends, not many outside friends.  At my age, meeting new people is a challenge.  Most are married, have kids, have their own challenges.  Same goes for my older brothers and sisters, so no real family time either.  We try to get together, but its only a couple times a year usually.  Guess I'm not sure what I'm looking for, outside of a "Hello", and maybe the chance to swap stories with someone, or someones.  

Best of luck to all who fight this fight.  I realize many people have it worse than I do across this big blue ball of a planet, so I take some solace in that.  Just hoping to connect with someone, anyone.