Diagnosed with burnout and anxiety; what to do next?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi.

A few days ago, my doctor said to me that I was suffering from a burnout and also anxiety. My doctor put me off from my job for three weeks with the possibility to renew it after February the 23rd.

I also think that I am suffering from depression because I am often sad and I cry often when I am alone.

I am sick and tired of my job. It's very repetitive and there are no challenges at all. I also have to deal with big crowds and this is killing me now more than ever. It must have been because of all those years because I was not like that at the beginning. I have been working at this same job for almost twenty years now.

My job is now affecting my self esteem, my happiness and my mental health. It's been like that for years but I have not done anything yet to improve the situation.

My next appointment with my doctor is on February the 22nd. She would like me to start taking antidepressants. I am a little bit afraid about that.

I prefer healing the natural way but if I don't have the choice I will do it. I am also afraid that if I refuse to take antidepressants, she will sent me back to work. 

Meanwhile, my brother encourages me the best he can. I was searching for a new job but he told me that it's not the time yet. I must heal first and then after that I could search for another job. 

For the last days, I have done almost nothing. I stayed at home and alone and I rarely go out. I should but I find it hard. 

I must also say that my social circle is very limited. I must work on this.

Any tips to help me recover from my burnout?

It sounds to me like you need to find another job or you may not start to feel better....The old saying is "A change is as good as a rest! "