New here

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spaniard

Reaction score
(Sorry if my English is not good)
Where do I start...
I am a teacher who lives in Spain. I feel really lonely and unhappy. I have never had issues making friends, but now they have all moved or started their own lives. I don't get on well with my brother either. 
I lived in the USA for two years, where I was a Master's Degree student and was a Graduate Teaching Assistant. I had lots of friends there, who I considered my family. I never got used to the idea of coming back to Spain (this was in 2014). I experienced bad moments in the USA but also really good ones, at least I had a life. I lost contact with them, everyone having their own lives, moving on.
I have considered trying to go back to the States, and see what happens, but this is really hard. I could under a J1 visa but it is hard to be selected (I will try next year and I would move in 2020). The problem is, if selected, who knows if I would be able to make any friends at all. Plus, I have heard of really bad experiences. When I was in the Sates I made friends because everyone was in my same situation. That is, we were workmates, classmates... it was easy to make friends. But, going back I assume my workmates would have their own lives. In addition, I don't drive since I am really afraid of it. All the application programs require a driving license. I do have a license but I have nerver used it. I have lived for two years in the Midwest with no car and I have survived, but maybe there is no transportation to the school that selects me (no way to know until selected...).
Every time I talk to my mother about the idea of applying she gets mad at me. She hates the idea. So, I can't talk to anyone.
Thanks for reading.

Hi.