I used to be a teacher

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

humourless

Reaction score
an elementary school teacher.
I was better with the 8 and 9 year olds. The 12 year olds were too cool for me. They didn't respect me. Not that the 8 /9 year olds respected me that much .
Anyway, I have this distinct memory of the kids I taught. when they reached grade 6 or 12 years of age, they looked down on me. "Oh here comes that dag Mr. Humourless. What a loser." That's my interpretation now but I think it pretty accurate. They probabaly thought to themselves "how did I even entertain the thought Mr.Humourless might be a good or cool or even interesting teacher!  I must have been blind and stupid and totally naïve."
Just one of he reasons I don't miss teaching.

No one read my scintillating story? I have lots of teacher related anecdotes.
I really envy the people who love their job and that of course includes teachers. Imagine waking up in the morning and thinking "oh great Im off to work again!"

I read it. Did you retire? Quit? The stories I hear coming out schools these days sounds like you got out in time.

My job pays the bills and affords me decent life. So I'm very thankful for that. But I'd be lying if I said it was what I wake up and look forward to everyday. I have no idea what kind of I work I could do realistically and love it and it pay me enough to live.

MissBehave said:
I read it 🎀
Does this give me extra creds? 😁

you go to the top of the special humourless list on here. congratulations

PandaSwag said:
I read it.  Did you retire?  Quit?  The stories I hear coming out schools these days sounds like you got out in time.