People can be nice (sometimes)

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I'm Fine

Reaction score
Ok, I work in a shop on the tills and, the other day, there were two young girls. Just at that awkward age where they're old enough to be self-conscious but young enough not to know how to handle that.

They were trying to buy a couple of little items - nothing exactly essential - but their card kept being declined. I let them try several times just in case - but it was obvious it wasn't going to work. I asked if they had any other way to pay but they didn't - all they had was their bus fare. Things were getting awkward now - they were embarrassed and I knew I was going to have to explain their options to them (there was a queue building after all) - when the person next in line piped up and asked how much they were short.I told them - it was only a couple of quid. 

And they paid for them.

The girls were genuinely surprised - embarrassed but pleased. There was a big round of thank you's from them - and from me. And then the girls got to go on their way WITH their items.

So... it doesn't happen often but - just occasionally - people can be nice.

Yes that was quite nice :)

Yes, it's a great way to teach the youth that you don't have to be responsible because there's always going to be someone there to bail you out. I bet they have lots of participation trophies at home that are identical to the first place trophies the other girls worked hard to earn.  :D

Considering how embarrassed they were at the card being declined, I think they'll be more careful in future. And if not, I doubt that there'll be a repeat performance of someone bailing them out. That kind of thing is a rarity not the norm so, the opportunity for them to learn that things don't get handed to them will probably still be coming their way.