Feeling lonely

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blue20

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I’m brand new to this forum and I’m not sure how to start or put my feelings into words effectively but here goes. 

I’m male and 23. I’ve reached a point in my life where I feel like I’ve come to a brick wall. I’m currently studying as a post graduate at university, I live at home, and I have a few friends but not the sort where we chat 24/7, just usually at university and occasional texting etc. I’m only in university a day or two a week (when it isn’t a coronavirus lockdown) and so I go in, I see my friends, I study, I go home. The other 6/7 days of the week I’m at home working on the big workload that I have for my course, and I spend the majority of the day on my own in the house. 

People always tell me they bet I’m really happy but I’m not. Sure I have great grades, education, a few friends, a supportive family, but it all just feels limited I suppose I could say. My friends and family see me as this totally together guy, in the sense that I have my career planed and my head is screwed on. But in reality I’m suffering from this never ending loneliness.

Everyone around me is seeing progress. They achieve new things, they get into great relationships, they make some new good friends, they’re getting married, having kids, getting to experience new and exciting experiences. And it just feels like all of these things aren’t going to happen to me. I want to have an exciting life, a life where it would feel fresh and although there would ups and downs I would learn from it and become a better person. For me it feels like I’m just sitting at a train station platform waiting for a train that is never going to come. I don’t even have those opportunities to learn from.