Finally realized I want to be more social but am in final year in university

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cless

Reaction score
To sum up my issue with 1 sentence would be: I'm in 4th year and graduating next year, but I finally realized that I want to be more social, honeysuckle.

I've always had small groups of close friends and the ones I keep now are drawing further away since we're all moving onto different areas of studies and work etc. I've always known that I was smart and always distanced myself with people because my views and interests usually differed. I passed the gifted test in elementary school and entered the program in middle school and placed in the top 10 of my program twice at uni. I know I have potential both in terms of technical and social skills, and have been told by girls that I have really rare qualities such as compassion, artistic appreciations, love of deep conversations, all these potentials just add pressure to me. Like I know I can socialize and very comfortably, but I'm rarely ever open to opportunities to do so, at least before my change of attitude. I think I just didn't feel it was worth my time at that stage of my life. I know, wtf was I thinking really.

One major reason I didn't get to socialize much is that I commute to uni everyday and didn't get involved in anything clubs or classes etc until recently, but because it's the last year, it's pretty freakn hard and seemingly pointless to find new friends.

I appear to be alone most of the time at school but irradiate this confidence that actually attracts some people but my unwillingness to be interested in them intimates them. This confidence is a combination of genuine confidence but also a front I put on because I'm actually quite insecure about my identity.