Gamers More Social?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Huh, that is interesting. Most of the gamers I know have at least a college degree and often more (I have a master's), but few of them are very social. Obviously, the population of "gamers" is huge and it's hard to put people in boxes. Still, cool article.

I'm always hesitant about reading statistics about "gamers". To people like myself who consider themselves one, a gamer is a person who plays something that required an actual purchase and on either a console or PC. We generally aren't talking about those who play candy crush on their cell phones, or minesweeper or solitare. Yet these numbers and percentages always include the latter.

polls can be made to look like anything the person wants.

I love ******* science is an aweful name. I guess it is fun to say fresia for some people.

Once i quit drinking i decided to have dignity so here is something i say to myself sometimes. Is this something i would say in front of my mother? And if the answer is no maybe I do not want to be behaving that way.

Whatever happened to nice clean language?

Well, the reason why gamers were thought to be nonsocial in the first place was because of the nature of gaming. For a long time since the release of games, the max number of people to play is 2. With only a handful of people that would ever want to "stand in line" to play. This bottlenecks the potential for socializing. Fastforward 40 years and you have today, where any non-singleplayer game can be played by at least 4 people at the same time with many more people that would want to stand in line to play. Plus, with the internet, the audience increases from perhaps up to 10 to 100,000+