Using Dating Apps In College?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ReaderGuy

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm in my second year of college, and I have nothing really close to a relationship at all. I've never been in a relationship, and its not because I dont want one, its because I mainly lack any confidence in my social skills (which are admittedly kinda low), though I am pretty confident in the way I look. In high school I only had a couple guy friends and didnt hang out much with people outside of school. Ive had a small reversal in college due to the fact that now the only friends I hang out with (and room with) are two girls. Theres also one other girl I talk to since shes the same major as me and is in two of my classes. Between texting and talking I communicate with her basically every day. But its almost always about school work, and she also has a bf in her hometown. I do feel as if maybe I would be able do something if she didnt have a bf...but thats not the case so theres no use in "what ifs".

So recently I've been thinking about going to dating apps, such as Badoo or Tinder. Does anybody have any experience doing this? I do realize that these apps (especially Tinder) is a basically just a way to find for most college students. Knowing that, I dont know if the type of people I meet on these apps will be anything close to my type. They will probably have more experience than me (seeing as I have none) and may possibly be expecting sex, which I dont want at all (at least for now!). Another concern is that I am not on the same social level as them. I have never been on a date and wouldn't really know what to do. I would probably come off as a little wierd at first lol.