My loneliness problem...long story

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicolelt

The Handler
Reaction score
Okay, here is my story. I graduated college and moved 2 and a half hours away from my family to take a teaching job. I thought I would be fine, I mean I already lived 2 hours away for college, but let's face it, college life for the most part is full of people. I went from having 3 other roommates and people over to, living on my own with my dog and cat.

At first it was cool, I got to run my home they way I wanted, but now it sucks. It's not like I haven't tried to make new friends, it's harder in the "real world", where college was easy. I have tried going to sporting events at the high school I teach at, going to church, doing yoga after school, and internet dating to meet people and get at least a friend to hang out with. None of it is working for me, and I have lived here for about 8 months now.

To top things off, I really don't think teaching is for me. So, I am actually looking to get a job in the agriculture industry. The jobs I am looking at are closer to home, so I think being around my family would help.

This whole college to real life transition is just not going well for me, and I really just need to get through these next 5 months of teaching.

Thanks, for reading. :)

Hey, I have about another 5 months of teaching too before I quit and try looking for something else. :p

I don't really have anything great to say but I hope you don't give up trying and just keep moving ahead and reach for what makes you happy. I'd say that switching your career to something you are more interested in is a good first step. :)

All the best and hope things work out for you.