New Person.

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Koevash

Reaction score
Hi.

I have struggled with depression since my teen years. I've generally been a sociable person, but there has just always been a number of sad and defeating thoughts pervading my psyche. I'm 25 years old, and I've been a cop for over two years now. Last week I held a dying child. This job isolates me, and it doesn't help that I've had issues for a while now. I thought coming into this profession would make me a stronger person; however, I feel like I'm crumbling on a nightly basis.

So, that's me...or at least, that's why I'm depressed.

I'm here because I have no one to talk to, and that's the worst part.

Welcome to the forum. Wow a police officer, yeah that is a stressful job, does your station have counselors or something?

It is a State Police agency, so while they do offer counseling services, you have to drive across the state to headquarters to meet them. It's kind of a poorly designed system :/

Hey there, welcome to the forum.

I have a friend who is married to a police officer. It's not an easy job. I respect you for putting yourself in harm's way for our safety, you're a hero.

Hi and welcome to the forum. I can't imagine what you face with your job. I really hope you find what it is you need. This is a great place with great people :).

Hey welcome to the forum, hope you can find some people to talk with here, sorry you are having a tough time, its understandable, police have to find ways to cope with a lot of difficult things. Try to focus on the good parts of your job as much as possible. Hang in there.