The internet makes me hate people!

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ladysigh

Reaction score
I remember my very first job after college, I was an admin in the customer service dept of a bank. All the CSRs were miserable as all they did was take phone call after phone call from irate rude customers. Somehow I got stuck indefinitely filling in for the receptionist, and I found myself in the same situation (the customer got to yell at me before I transferred them to the CSR). This was 1991, no internet for people to go to first, we'd typically take in a thousand calls a day. At lunch we'd all sit around crying about our miserable jobs, and one common phrase kept coming up: "I hate people!" I finally found a better job one year later, and that "hating people" feeling went away.

After 20 years I frequently see that feeling creeping back into my psyche, and i dont like it. It happens only when I'm online.

Why, oh why, are people so rude and crude and insulting when hidden behind a keyboard?

I've had some very bad experiences with online forums, whether they were political "debates" or simply looking for technical assistance with my computer. Strangers love to call you "*******" for no reason, and I think that's sick.

I once posted to a free legal forum when someone used my email in the "from" field of their spam (it's called "spoofing" and its very easy to do). I traced the spam to the company responsible and posted to this legal forum asking if I have any legal rights. The response I got was: Did it ever occur to you to invest in an antivirus program?