The Old Man and The Funeral

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alaric

Reaction score
I am a social worker. In the course of my career I meet lots of different kinds of people in all kinds of situations.

Charles H is 80 years old. He would have been 81 in May. Charles was married for 62 years to a woman he met when he lived in a state run orphanage. When they aged out they moved in together - something almost unheard of back in the thirties and forties.

Charles' wife, Gloria, died just on two weeks ago. The couple had never had children, and neither of them had ever held more than low-paid jobs in their lives. They never adopted children, and neither of them ever managed to get in touch with biological families.

Life for Charles and Gloria consisted of being around each other. They owned their own home; something they had saved for over 20 years, and had never lived anywhere else throughout their long marriage. They were people I knew locally, and liked.

A couple of years back Charles came to me to ask for some help loading a lawnmower onto a beat-up '72 Ford truck he had owned since 1975. I helped him load it up and accepted the offer of cold homemade lemonade loaded with ice. It was a hot day. The social worker in me caused me to get a little nosy, and I learned a lot about them while I was there. They were good people, and really, apart from each other, they were all they had in the world.