Until I Can Change...

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sceptical1

Reaction score
I have social anxiety, simply put. I am also pretty depressed, partly due to that and partly because my life is not where I want it to be. I graduated from high school this past June and don't have the money or means by which to attend college. I have four good friends from high school, and I haven't talked to them since we graduated. They all ended up going to the schools they wanted to. I haven't really wanted to talk to them, not because I'm angry at them (I am a little) but because I don't really think I'd make a good friend right now. I know I would only be reminded of what I wish I had and behave resentfully. Unfortunately that's the kind of person that I am, but I think everybody is to some extent. I also have the more pressing underlying issue of my social anxiety. My friends have never really seen the real me, my anxiety has prevented me from really expressing myself and who I am. I've had it for so long that I don't act nervously in most situations, but my emotion is limited by my fear of reaction. I really need to get over at least the anxiety before I can justify seeing them again and I wouldn't have it any other way. I'm so pent up with feelings, I just don't think I would make a good friend right now. I care about my friends, and I know they care about me. They've had to put up with who I am right now pretty much the whole time I've known them, and I don't think it's fair anymore. I've wanted to change forever and I'm tired of saying I will. I want to be a totally different person when I next see them, I want to be the best person I can and I really can't settle for less. I hope this makes sense to everyone. How can I start?