Are online friends worth the drama?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Onit

Reaction score
Hello. Warning, this may not be of any interest to anyone.

Maybe a forum is the wrong place to post this, but I have been posting on another forum for the past 6 months and it has done me no good whatsoever. Let me explain, I had never really shared anything about myself on the internet, I haven't done social networking and the only forums I had posted on were about football and boxing. So I joined a "support" site for shy people, thinking I would find like-minded people that could empathise, I could vent about things, and maybe I would find one or two of these internet buddies that so many have.

Anyway, a pretty American girl took an interest in me and told me she had a "major crush" on me, which I thought was unbelievable as in real life women ignore me. We talked most days for months and she was always telling me how she would love to meet me etc, she would tell me her problems(usually about self-esteem), and I would listen and listen and listen. Eventually it became obvious she was using me to boost her ego, playing games with me because she knew I liked her. She never listened to my problems, if anything came up she would change subject straight away, this person doesn't know the meaning of empathy. I was a bit in denial about this persons intentions and talked to her way too much and allowed myself to get too emotionally involved.