Fear

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 190848

Reaction score
Anyone on here a veteran that I could talk to? My husband is a veteran. Consumed by news world events doomsday prepping. I cannot change him. Only me. I know polyvagal theory. Know how to calm myself. Reached critical mass today. Trying to work on living with someone who expects and look for signs of 2nd civil war. I know things in the world are bad full of trauma. I can no longer live in fear or reach out to him for reassurance. Thank you. Yes I have ptsd. He does to but will not acknowledge.

I'm not a military veteran, but I am a retired cop with PTSD and long term depression since I was a kid.

Sounds stressful, but the first thing I'd ask is, what are the negative aspects of his obsession? Is what he's doing actually hurting anyone? Perhaps you're being neglected, treated poorly etc, and that needs addressing, otherwise, maybe just let him do what he feels is reassuring to him?

Consider reaching out to a mental health professional, therapist, or counselor. They can provide guidance on how to cope with the challenges you're facing and help you develop strategies for self-care. If your husband is open to it, couples counseling could also be beneficial.

If your husband is willing, encourage open and honest communication about your concerns and feelings. Express how his focus on doomsday scenarios is affecting you and your mental health. It may be helpful to express your desire for a balanced and positive outlook on life.