Hi, with a rambling post

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Torsatron

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Just wanted to say hello. I'm at a stage of my life where my social circle is drastically smaller than it used to be. Currently I'm a graduate student at a major public research university. All of my former high school acquaintances have moved on with their lives, likewise with college friends from undergraduate. My main interaction on a day to day basis is with other graduate students (typically the same 5-6 people) in the research group. They are also all married/engaged and I'm the only single one out, so I listen to their stories of married life with both longing (being lonely and living on my own doesn't help matters) and amusion. I have a few close friends, but I don't see them often and mostly communicate online; but I prefer quality to quantity in friendships anyway. There are girls in the classes I take, but not surprisingly they are all taken (I mean this literally, being in a physical science field has this as a huge disadvantage since the male-female ratio is somewhere around 8:2 and the classes are small ~10-15 people).

During this process I've also moved to a large city where paradoxically it should be easy to meet new people, but I'm a bit introverted by nature and don't really open up too much unless I get to know a person better. So as a result I've been trying to combat the sometimes irrational sense of isolation I get from time to time. From experience, I don't really do well in large public venues such as bars/clubs, partially because I can't hear a thing due to the loud music, and also it isn't the most comfortable setting for me to meet people.