I don't really know what I'm doing right now

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RonYells

Reaction score
tl;dr

Couldn't sleep. Coffee-fied. About twelve hours ago I bought a 20-pack cigarette. Now I'm down to two. I've been spending the whole day playing video games. Basically that's my daily routine for the past year.

I'm 23 years old, Filipino, and grew up on the metro here in my home country. I graduated college a year ago and is now still unemployed since I couldn't convince myself to look for a job. Though I am naturally introverted all my life, I didn't find it that difficult to make friends (I realized early on that people can like you as long as you know what they want). However, the more I grow up, the more knowledge I attained, and the more experiences I gained, the more convoluted my perspective on life became. While some friends suddenly became people I hardly know, some friends became people I know too well to the point of me being able to dissect their personality like some character in an imaginary movie. Either way, long-term friendship with me causes people to shun me away, or me to them. Slowly, through a couple of rare nights out with friends, I realized I've lost the ability to interact and make new friends. My people-skills have deteriorated so much that I couldn't even tell a non-awkward joke anymore. Anything I say will usually result in people either giving me the stare, or mindless shrugs followed by a sudden shift of topic. Even my friends whom I've shared long talks with, seem to be unable to relate to me anymore. Sometimes I get suspicious and paranoid for no particular reason, and at times I really just don't see the point of socializing anymore. It became pretty clear to me that it was just a matter of time before I shut out the people around me. Deviance turns to rej