Job agency blues

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Batman55

Reaction score
A short disclaimer: yes I need to fix myself and so on, I'll admit it up front, so in return I ask for no "tough love" posts please. A simple request eh? (Treat others as you yourself would like to be treated, I think is the idea here.)

Anyway so it's been a while since I worked. I've never used a job agency before so I was thinking, maybe that could help pull me out of this rut, because I don't advocate well for myself. I should also note that I have low skills so I expect a low-paying job will be my next one--so be it, then.

So I put this question "I haven't worked for a long time, will a job agency help?" on Yahoo Answers, with some details summarizing the social difficulties and the attention problem I have. I received a couple maybes, but then this one:

Someone said:
Generally, no.

Job agencies (including the ones which market themselves to people with disabilities) hang out their shingle only for the all-mighty buck.

They're in it for themselves--and you are merely an 'inter-changeable part' in a revolving door of applicants. I've actually had more luck and even landed better job positions when just looking on my own. I am not being filtered through anybody else and/or their perception of me.

A temp agency does not check to see if their job is 'transit accessible'. They just announce
they have an opening available. If you cannot get to it, even because of disability, you are considered unreliable. You are making money for the temp agency, not yourself if working through a temporary agency.

They also do not check to see if the equipment at your job site is even functional/safe to use. You are
considered to have lied about your job skills.