Late 20s, w/gf, job, but SO UNHAPPY, is this IT?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UnsolvableRiddle

Reaction score
I'm in my late 20s. When I was 15 I began to have debilitating social anxiety. I was forced to leave school my sophomore year. I was home schooled for one year and lost all in-person interaction with past friends and classmates. I was then forcefully moved with my parents to another state hundreds of miles away. I was too scared to start at a new school my senior year where nobody knew me. Despite numerous therapists and medications I never saw any improvements in my condition. I got my diploma through home schooling and then for 3 years just mostly lived in my bedroom in my parent's house, I stopped going to therapy and swore off drugs as they had no effect. I wouldn't let my parents force me to go to college. I attempted to forge the first friendships I'd had in years by talking to people online, some of which were local. I got very close with a local girl I'd talk on the phone to and online with. We eventually met but then I think she wanted me to take her to her prom and I was too scared of that so I stopped talking to her altogether and we never spoke again. I'm sure she took it as an insult, I hated to stop talking to her but when I tried to reconnect years later she wouldn't even speak to me. Honestly the relationship never would've worked anyway.