This is why I hate everything

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicolelt

The Handler
Reaction score
I'm just going to put this under miscellaneous because I just need to vent.

Most of you know, I'm a teacher. And in my state we get evaluated on a 1 to 4 scale. 1 being ineffective, 2 is needs improvement, 3 is effective, and 4 is highly effective. They grade you on 3 domains, 1 is lesson planning for class, 2 is when they are in the classroom watching you teach, and 3 is leadership like do you communicate with parents and get into school stuff etc.

So today was the day I got my evaluation for the school year. We go through domain 1, and I get all 3's on those standards, even though I told my evaluator I didn't feel that way, but you know, he's the boss, and if he thinks I'm a 3, I'm a 3. We skip domain 2, because he grades that when he is in class with me and I get a 3 in that as well. Then for teacher leadership I get 3's and 4's in that area because I work my butt off for that school. So overall, I get the score of 3.15 which is an improvement from last year's 2.8. I should be happy, right?

Well, I feel like honeysuckle, because of the last part of my evaluation we had to set goals for me for next year. He told me I need to improve my classroom management, which I totally get. I do in fact need to crack down on my kids, and I have a plan for next year. But what got me was that he told me he had "heard" that I wasn't fair. That I wasn't consistent and couldn't control my classes. He heard this from kids that I wrote up. He got this information before he ever stepped foot in my classroom. And he straight up said, "I didn't know what to expect going into your class." and that he was "pleasantly surprised with my teaching."